top of page
  • Writer's pictureghost malone

Take Care of Your Beautiful Goddamn Self for Once: A Self-Care Resources Roundup

Howdy-ho! This is another repost from my original blog. Enjoy!


 

So you may have noticed I changed my blog name. The shortest answer to why is that I’m still trying to figure myself out and I like this new name more. That’s all I have to say about that. Let’s get to the good stuff.


I didn't mean for February to be a month-long celebration of self-love on this blog but now that I have the idea I'm choosing to run with it. I also hope no one minds that I’m phoning it in a bit this week. I’m just working through some shit. You know how it goes.


Ayway, for this week I'm going old-school with another roundup. This time, I'm showcasing all of the resources I've ever used and gotten use out of when it comes to taking care of myself. I'm including (Android)1 apps, websites, books, and any other odds and ends I can think of. If I've consumed it and it made me a better person, it's on here.


Let’s Ride.


Android Apps


Free-ninety-nine. A Canadian-based app where you do self-care or CBT activities to care for a virtual animal buddy.


Free but also has a paid subscription. A meditation app and website that I honestly just use for the soundscapes because they're gorgeous.


A meditation app on steroids. There's something for everyone.


Free but also has a paid subscription. A digital life coach and habit tracker. I like it so much I got a job with the development company!


Free as hell. Pauses notifications and blocks app usage for timed periods so you can focus on other things.


Websites


An interactive self-care guide/flowchart geared toward those with mental illness.


A mental health-focused social platform with one-on-one support chat, guided and unguided group chats, and even a (paid) therapy service. Also has an app.


Anonymously vent to a stranger and receive advice in return. Or, you can receive other people’s “baggage” and give support.


A free compendium of CBT worksheets and other therapy resources.


A basic word processor that rewards wordcount milestones with pictures of kittens. Now also features puppies and bunnies.


Random puppy gifs.


Free MASSIVE database of sound generators. A one-time donation of any value unlocks a gazillion bonus features forever. I've personally corresponded with the creator, Dr. Stephane Pigeon, and am in MyNoise's top 1% of donors. I can't recommend MyNoise enough. Also has an app.


Free with some paid features. Habit tracker and to-do list with RPG character development elements. Oodles of fun. Also has an app.


Easy, budget-friendly recipes for people with no time, no energy, and no money. Very disability-friendly. Run by an angel.


Books


Dr. Burns didn’t invent cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) but he is the guy who made it famous. His book, Feeling Good, is specifically designed to be a manual for patients to read. He's even tested its effectiveness; people who read his book tend to feel better after, especially when it's used as a supplement for talk therapy. But when that's not possible, Feeling Good is a scientifically-backed great place to start. You can also view his TEDx talk about CBT here.


As a long-time struggling writer, Stephen King's On Writing was like a hug with words. I come from a big family of King fans but have only read a couple of his books myself. I finally get the appeal now. I have a list of King books on my to-read list now.


The story of the evolutionary history of humans. This may seem like a weird entry but von Hippel's use of evolutionary science to explain human behavior brings about some remarkable insights.


Everything Else


The Best Bedtime Setup Money Can Buy

Listen. You spend a third of your life asleep. You owe it to yourself to get the best sleep you possibly can. Be a cheap bastard in all other aspects of your life but for the love of Lucifer give your bedroom the attention it deserves. Good mattress. Better pillows. Blackout curtains. Gentle alarms. Do it all and more.


Self-Dates

Being a bit of a lifelong word nerd, I definitely have favorite words. One of them is a word I learned about a couple years ago: Masturdating. The fine art of taking yourself on a date. You don’t need other people to have a good time; take yourself out to lunch or go to the movies. Enjoy some time alone. Learn to love yourself. It’s what RuPaul would want.


Final Thoughts


I think I've finally beaten the self-care horse hard enough. I have no plans for next week's post right now so feel free to suggest something in the comments or on Twitter, @ghost_h_malone. I usually try to have a topic solidified by the end of Monday. Maybe I'll do a poll. Polls are fun.


Anyway, see you next week. Be good. Make art.


Footnotes:

1: Many of these may also be on iOS, I just don't know because I don't have an Apple device. Sorry. I'd look them up but... well, I'm equal parts lazy and petty and when I research apps, other bloggers usually do the opposite. So put that in your frappuccino and suck it, Apple users.

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page