top of page
  • Writer's pictureghost malone

App Review: Serial Reader


Special thanks to the public domain, without which, apps like Serial Reader would not be possible.

I like to read. Specifically, I like to read books. If you asked me what kind of books I like to read, however, I'd probably make a stupid face, shrug, and say, "I dunno. All of them."


Sure, I have preferences. Everyone does. But I am a voracious reader, and almost always have been.


The one exception? My college years. It's hard to read for fun when you're spending so much time reading for school and work, but by the start of my second senior year, I was fed up with having lost that part of myself. I wanted to start reading again, but I wasn't sure how. It took time, reflection, and trial and error to get me back in the reading saddle (I document what worked for me on a Medium post here), but one of my solutions actually came in the form of an app: Serial Reader, developed by Michael Schmitt, and available for free on both iOS and Android, though there is a premium version you can unlock for a one-time payment of $2.99 USD. Which, for the record, I did.


What Is Serial Reader?

Back in the days of yore, people read serial novels, which were published in bite-sized pieces called installments in newspapers, magazines, or other periodicals. Fun fact: All of Charles Dickens's books were published in serial format first. Other famous serial novels include The Count of Monte Cristo, The Secret Garden, Treasure Island, and The Heart of Darkness.


Serial Reader brings this idea into the modern age. You select a book from a vast library of public domain literature and every day, Serial Reader sends you a snippet of that book to read, which usually takes no more than 10 minutes. With Serial Premium, you can read ahead, make notes and add highlights, and more. You can also sync your reading progress with Goodreads.


The Good

Serial Reader's interface is clean and easy to navigate. The collection of books is massive and beautifully organized, and I love that you can bookmark serials for later, or pause serials you're currently reading. Actually reading the issues is a delight on the eyes, and the Premium version offers plenty of customization, including dyslexic-friendly fonts.


What I really love about Serial Reader, however, is its charm. You get badges for accomplishments like the number of words or books you've read. Each time you finish an issue, you get a celebratory pop-up praising you for being so awesome. There's lots of old-timey art of people in top hats and frogs in waistcoats. Serial Reader is just plain fun to look at and use.


The Bad

I guess it's a little buggy? When I get notifications for new serials, sometimes the new issue doesn't show up as available when I first open the app. I usually have to select the book I'm subscribed to, then go back to the main menu, then select it again to show my new issue.


And though there is a swath of literary selections to choose from, Aesop's Fables still isn't available, despite the fact that I've been asking for it very politely for at least a year now. See also: The Bhagavad Gita.


I would also like the ability to have separate notifications for different serials if I'm subscribed to more than one (a morning notification for one serial and an evening notification for another, for example). It is my understanding that this is available in the iOS version and will someday be coming to Android. But I'm still waiting, Michael.


Final Thoughts

It's hard to complain about Serial Reader because I wouldn't want to scare anyone away from it. If you're looking to up your reading game, it's a great place to start, no matter what your interests are. The available books include classic literature like Frankenstein and Little Women, religious and philosophical texts like the Quran, Confucius's Analects, and even the damn Communist Manifesto. There are short serials (the shortest are two issues long), and long ones (I believe The King James Bible is the longest at 287). There are short stories, poems, and essays. If you can't find something to read on Serial Reader, you simply aren't trying hard enough.


Unless you're looking for Aesop's Fables. Then you're shit out of luck.


Ratings

Approval Meter: 💚💚💚💚🖤

Minor bugs and can be slow to roll out new features. But, to be fair, it's maintained by only one guy.

Spooky Meter: 👻👻

You may find yourself overwhelmed by choices at first. I recommend picking a short serial to warm up with.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page